Friday, February 28, 2014

DAVID BLACKSHEAR


       If you were asked to list the ten most influential persons in the history of Laurens County, you would have to include the name of General David Blackshear.  In many lists, he would be near the top, certainly first in chronological order.   This is the story of a remarkable man, who as a child fought to defend his state from British invaders, as a young man braved the wilderness of the Georgia frontier, as a middle-aged adult, he  led armies to protect the fledgling state of Georgia from the British and hostile Indians in the War of 1812 and as a wise old sage, the old general guided the state through some its greatest trials and tribulations.

David Blackshear was born on January 31, 1764 in Craven County, later Jones County, North Carolina.  The third of eight children of James and Catherine Franck Blackshear, young David was reared in a home, seven miles above Newton on the banks of Chinquapin Creek near Trenton.  David's grandfather Alexander Blackshear came to North Carolina  as early as 1732. Blackshear arrived in the colony in the company of John Martin Franck and Phillip Miller.  They landed in New Haven.  As soon as they were able to secure sufficient transportation, the families traveled up the Trent River about twenty miles before coming ashore. There they found a wilderness west of New Bern, which had been settled in 1710.   They carried their  sole possessions with them since there was no stock for food and no horses for transportation.  These stalwart German immigrants immediately went to work building their homes.  Blackshear applied for and was granted a patent to obtain his land from the Crown. 

The Blackshears and their related matriarchal relatives were of German ancestry.  Alexander Blackshear made out his last will and testament on October 3, 1785.  In it, he named his wife Agnes and children, James, Eleanor Bailey, Elisha, Abraham, Sarah Clifton and a granddaughter Susanna Fordham, who apparently was a daughter of another daughter.  Agnes Blackshear died sometime in or shortly after 1793. John Franck and his wife Civel  had two daughters, Barbara and Catherine. Catherine  first married a Mr. Bush and had two sons, John and William.  Bush died in the late 1750s and his widow married James Blackshear.  James and Catherine had James, Edward, David, Elizabeth, Susannah, Elijah, Penelope and Joseph.  Barbara Franck married Daniel Shine.  The Shines lived ten miles above Trenton. Mrs. Shine was given the honor of entertaining General George Washington on his tour of the South in 1791.  

David and his siblings had a meager education at best.  Periodically a traveling teacher might be hired to teach the children the fundamentals of writing and reading.  Most days of spring and summer were spent learning the science and art of agriculture.  

Edward, born on January 20, 1762, married Emily Mitchell. He lived for a time in Montgomery County before joining the mass migration to Thomas County, where he died in 1829. Elizabeth, born on September 16, 1765, married Blake Bryan.  The daughter Mary, married the legendary Maj. Gen. Ezekiel Wimberly of Twiggs County, Georgia.  Susannah, born on May 27, 1769, married Edward Bryan.  Following his death in 1813, Susannah and her sons moved to Twiggs County to be closer to their family. Elijah, born on July 17, 1771, never married.  He died in Laurens County in1821 and is buried in the old yard at Vallambrosa.    Penelope, born on April 13, 1773, married Edward Bryan, and joined her sisters and their Bryan husbands in Twiggs County.  Joseph, the youngest child, was born on September 7, 1775.  He married Winifred, sister of Col. William A. Tennille, Secretary of State of Georgia.   He died in Laurens County in 1830. 

In the late spring of 1775, reports of the encounter between Massachusetts minute men and British Army regulars at Concord and Lexington reverberated throughout the backwoods of Jones County.  Militia units in the area forced the British to abandon New Bern, then the capital of North Carolina.  The British army under the command of General McDonald rendezvoused at Cross Creek on February 15, 1776.  Present were a force of 1600 men composed of Highlanders, loyalists and eleven dozen ex-Regulators.    The Blackshears and their neighbors did not take this threat lightly.  Guns, tools and any weapon capable of inflicting deadly harm were grabbed up by men of fighting age.  

On the morning of February 27, 1776, the loyalists were moving north across Moore's Creek some twenty miles north of Wilmington.  There as they crossed a bridge, partially disassembled to retard their progress.  They were met by a force of a thousand patriots who pounced upon them in utter surprise.  Expecting only light opposition as their column moved through the countryside, the Scottish Highlanders were dazed and confused as the North Carolinians assaulted them with deadly effect.  As the enemy chaotically left the field in retreat, they left valuable wagons, weapons and huge sums of silver coins.  Thirty enemy soldiers were dead. Some 850 more were captured.  The defeat at Moore's Creek effectively ended Tory activities in the area for years to come.    Present that day, probably somewhere in the rear of the fighting, was a twelve-year-old David Blackshear, along with his older brothers James and Edward.  The young warrior was also present at the Battle of Buford's (Beauford's) Bridge.  

After the battle, David returned home and for three months of school before being tutored by James Alexander Campbell Hunter Peter Douglass, an eccentric Scotsman.  In his latter years Blackshear related a tale about a time when the professor instructed the class to spell the word "corn," which his pronounced "korrun."  Each student spelled the word just as they had heard it.  Upon an examination of their papers, the Scotsman became so infuriated that he flogged every single member of the class and sent them home.   

David's oldest brother, James Blackshear, Jr., and his cousin, Martin Franck were appointed to raise a company of militia to defend their local area.  A scouting party composed of James, Edward and David, along with Martin Franck, Peter Callaway and several others, was sent out under the command of Captain Yates to locate, capture and kill, if necessary, a band of Tories.  The party stopped to rest for the night at the home of Col. White.  James, Martin and Peter continued on to James's home some five or six miles further away.  

Just as the men were sitting down for a well-desired supper, the house was surrounded by Tories.  James and Martin were taken out of the house, carried to the end of the lane, tied to stakes and executed without mercy.  Somehow Peter Callaway escaped.  A Negro man ran as fast as he could to Col. White's house.  Following closely on his trail, a band of Tories set out to destroy the remaining Whigs.   With only seven horses for fourteen men, Yates set out toward the Blackshear home.  Just as they left the gate outside the White house, they were ambushed by the Tories, hidden on both sides of the road, killing one patriot and wounding several others, including Edward Blackshear, who was shot in both hands as he was riding double with another man.  The Whigs scrambled for the nearest cover.   Captain Yates, his collar bone broken, fired and killed the Tory captain.   After the skirmish ended, the Loyalist leader was promptly, and without a moment's hesitation, tied to a stake.  A flurry of gunshots inflicted sweet revenge on the murder of  their compatriots.  

Those who have not studied the history of the American Revolution in the South do not realize the barbarous acts inflicted by Tories on the Patriots and vice versa.  It was the country's first Civil War, and unlike the conflict which would follow nine decades later, neighbors killed neighbors.

With the end of the American Revolution in 1783, the State of Georgia signed the treaty of Washington.  The agreement with the Indian tribes who owned the lands provided a cession of all the lands from present day Athens down the Oconee and Altamaha Rivers to present day Tattnall County.  The new county was named Washington in honor of the most prominent founding father of the country.  

David Blackshear, though lacking in any substantial mathematical training, developed an interest in surveying.   He taught himself how to use a transit, compass and protractor to survey land.   Services of trained surveyors were at a premium and the mapping and division of the new county of Washington drew the young man to Georgia.  He made several trips to Georgia, first in Wilkes County and then into Washington County.  Life for a 18th Century surveyor wasn't easy.  With no comforts of home, surveyors trampled through swamps, creeks, briar patches and were constantly in fear of attack by Indians, who still possessed lands west of the Oconee River.  

David Blackshear settled along the banks of the Oconee River about the year 1790.  He chose the perfect spot for a home, one just above the point where the ancient Lower Uchee Indian Trail crossed the Oconee River at Carr's Bluff.    Then in Washington County, Blackshear chose a tract of land with fine river bottom lands and a prime spot for his home on an elevated ridge.  The only trouble was that he chose a place which was subject to numerous depredations by some Creek Indian hunters who had been displaced from the lands some seven years prior.  Blackshear's grants of land totaled more than twenty one hundred acres, the largest being 1084 acres in 1793.    Grants of the latter's size usually indicated that the grantee had performed some public service to the state beyond the standard 287.5 acre grants given to soldiers of the Continental Line.  




Many of the conflicts along the lower Oconee River centered around Carr's Bluff on the eastern banks of the Oconee River in north central Laurens County.  Carr's Bluff is  relatively small in comparison with higher bluffs up river.  Its importance was derived from its location.  The bluff is located at the point where the Lower Uchee Trail crossed the Oconee River.  The trail was used by Indians in their travels between the Augusta area and lower portions of Georgia and Alabama.  The trail seems to have been used throughout the 17th and 18th centuries and may have been in use long before then.  According to some early Georgia historians,  it was the path taken by the Spanish explorer, Hernando de Soto, while on his expedition in May of 1540.

In 1792,  the clouds of war once again came into this area.  While negotiations were pending at Rock Landing, attacks continued along the eastern banks of the Oconee. Indian agent Seagrove went from village to village asking for the return of stolen animals.  In July,  Captain Benjamin Harrison had six horses stolen from him by Uchee Indians.  Harrison lived at Carr's Bluff, across from the present day Country Club.  Settlers in what would become eastern Laurens County stepped up their defenses.  An old Indian trail leading along the eastern edge of the river was used for border patrols.  This may have been the Milledgeville-Darien Road.   The settlers petitioned the Georgia governor for ammunition and forts.  The State built an outpost called Fort Telfair at Carr's Bluff on the Oconee River in 1793.  The people built their own forts arming their families and even their slaves.  On April 18, 1793,  the Indians raided the home of William Pugh near Carr's Bluff.  Pugh was the son of Col. Francis Pugh for whom Pugh's Creek in eastern Laurens County is named.  Pugh was killed and scalped in the attack.  Four horses were taken and one slave was captured.  The situation eased when the Oconee's waters rose, creating a natural barrier to an attack.

In the summer of 1793,  armies were being raised all over Georgia to protect against further raids.  Benjamin Harrison, a resident of the Carr's Bluff area, bore the brunt of these constant attacks of horse taking and killing of livestock. Captain Benjamin Harrison simply hated Indians.  Harrison once said "that there should never be a peace with the Indians whilst his name was Ben Harrison for he was able to raise men enough to kill half the Indians that might come to any treaty."  Benjamin Harrison is said to have been a frontier character with a patch over an eye and piece of his nose missing.  Harrison, a captain of the local militia, called his men together for a mission to retrieve some of his stolen horses.  The company moved along the Lower Uchee Trail until they reached the home of the Uchee King who promised him that the horses would be returned.  At another time, Harrison's men overtook a group of Indians taking three of their guns.  Timothy Barnard, the husband of a Uchee woman, convinced Harrison to return the guns and the matter was temporarily resolved.  

By October of 1793,  Harrison's ire had once again been raised by the Indians.  Captain Harrison's company and other companies under the command of Major Brenton set out from Carr's Bluff in defiance of General Jared Irwin.  Their destination was a Chehaw village on the Flint River.  Their objective was to capture any runaway slaves and stolen property.  They found the village defended by sixteen males and four slaves.  The rest of the men were in Florida hunting for game.  A battle ensued with two Georgians and three Indians being killed.

In early May of 1794,  Indian agent Seagrove invited the Lower Creeks and Uchees to return to their hunting grounds along the Oconee River while treaty negotiations continued.  That same month Georgia's war hero, General Elijah Clarke, was about to embark upon an attack on the Spanish at St. Augustine.  Clarke and his men were supported by the French government.  The expedition left from the upper Oconee area down an old Indian trail along the western side of the Oconee River.  The men camped at Carr's Bluff on their route to Florida.  Before he could invade, Clarke was convinced by the federal government to call off the attack.

On October 28, 1795,  Georgia and the United States were drawn into an incident which nearly precipitated a  war with the Creek Nation.  A small group of Indians had crossed the Oconee River and were visiting friends in a home near Carr's Bluff.  Benjamin Harrison, along with Mr. Vessels and their men, attacked the Indians, killing seventeen of them.  The dead, which included five Creek and twelve Uchee, were thrown into the river.  The next morning the Uchee rode along the Uchee Trail leading to the bluff.  They planned a retaliatory strike at dawn.  The Uchee surrounded Harrison's home.  To their dismay Capt. Harrison was gone.  They moved east attacking Bush's Fort with all haste.  Bush was a stepbrother of future General David Blackshear and lived in the area south of Ben Hall Lake along the newly created Washington/ Montgomery County line.  They captured the fort and killed one man.  The horses were taken and the cattle were killed. The Creek chiefs protested the killings to the Georgia government.  The legislature passed a resolution regretting the incident.  Harrison and his men were arrested for murder, but were never tried.

In February of 1796,  John Watts and his company of 17 men were at Hickory Bluff, two miles above Carr's Bluff on the Oconee.   The men received information on the 6th that Indians had been committing depredations along the frontier.   Some of the men started down the river in two canoes.   The first canoe was fired upon.  Joseph Blackshear, George Muse, and James Leonard in the second canoe heard the gunfire and quickly moved ashore.  The firing continued for fifteen minutes.   The next day Watts led a party to the scene of the incident.  There he found a decapitated William Foster who had his intestines and private parts cut out.  Israel Smith's bullet-riddled body was found skinned like an animal.  Isham Carr testified that he was a member of the party sent to investigate the theft of horses and sundry articles on February 8th.    He stated that the men on the land ran to the crossing point on the river.  The militia fired on the forty to fifty Indians, who retreated and fired from the high ground.  After a short time, the militia retreated when they feared they might be surrounded.  He went with Major Blackshear, Captain Blackshear, and others on the 10th to look for the missing men.  The men found  a small cache of three guns, a pistol, powder, and some clothing which they believed to belong to the Indians.   Carr found one dead man on the east bank of the river.  His scalp had been taken and it was presumed he had tried to swim to the east side of the river to safety.  Two men, Sparks and Leonard, were missing after the action and were presumed to have drowned in the attack.

While the negotiations for the Treaty of Colerain were pending, many of the hostilities ceased.  By the spring of 1797, the Indians were becoming impatient with the failure to bring Harrison and his men to trial.  They attacked Long Bluff a few miles above Carr's Bluff.   Isaac Brown (Vansant?)  had his brains blown away and was scalped at Bush's Fort in present day Laurens County in 1797.   Jeremiah Oates of Washington County testified that the dozen or so Indians carried off most of Brown’s belongings.  Brown’s wife was shot.  The Indians set the Brown’s house on fire.  Mrs. Brown managed to fire a shot which scared the Indians.  Despite her wound, Mrs. Brown was able to extinguish the fire.  The Indian leading the party had a son killed by Harrison at the massacre at Carr's Bluff.  In one of the last attacks in this area in February of 1798, William Allen was killed near Long Bluff.  

As early as the fall of 1797, David Blackshear was serving as a major of a brigade of militia.  By the end of the century, most of the hostilities had ceased.  Gen. David Blackshear complained of the small thefts being committed by Indians in the late spring of 1799.  No harm was done, but he thought the Indians were too insulant and mischievous.  He found the remains of a bar-be-qued pig at a camp site.  Blackshear was aggravated that the Indians were killing any animal they could find on his side of the river and that he had done all in his power to stop them without laying his hands upon them.  In one of the final clashes with the Indian people, two white citizens of Montgomery County crossed the Oconee River and took two horses belonging to Indians.  Gov. James Jackson wrote to Gen. David Blackshear who had command of this area.  One of these may have been ol' Benjamin Harrison.  Jackson gave orders to Blackshear directing him to arrest the offenders and not to resort to violence in the absence of any provocation.  Jackson reiterated the law against any Indians remaining on Georgia soil without permission.  The governor promised to back General Blackshear in any actions he might take.   

Pursuant to the approval of the Georgia Legislature on February 22, 1796, Jared Irwin, a fellow Washington Countian and Governor of Georgia, appointed Blackshear as Justice of the Peace for Blackshear’s Militia District on June 4, 1796.  Militia districts were formed primarily as a means of local defense against Indian attacks.  Each district was named for its captain, presumably either David Blackshear or his brothers Joseph or Elijah.  Three years later the Justices of the Inferior Court of Washington County renominated Blackshear to the position, which he served at least until 1808 and presumably until the boundaries of Laurens County were expanded to encompass all of his holdings in 1811.

Blackshear represented Washington County in the Georgia House of Representatives from 1797 to 1798 and again in 1804.  Nearly all of the records of General David Blackshear’s activities while he was residing in Washington County went up in flames in a disastrous fire which destroyed the county courthouse in the 1850s.  The early years of the 19th Century were relatively quiet in the number of so called Indian depredations.  This lull was not so much caused by a cessation of hostilities but primarily because the state of Georgia acquired all of the land east of the Ocmulgee River in the early years of the century.  Blackshear remained active in local affairs.  With the creation of Laurens County in 1807, new lands were opened across the Oconee River from his plantation.  Blackshear and his brothers, though not land lottery winners, promptly expanded their family’s holdings by purchasing fractional land lots along the river at a public sale held in the capital in Milledgeville.  In 1811, the Georgia legislature authorized the ceding of portions of Washington and Montgomery counties to Laurens County.  This simple act to compensate Laurens County for its loss of lands to Pulaski County was directly responsible for David Blackshear becoming a resident of Laurens County.   David Blackshear’s early years as a local patriot and warrior was soon to change.  In his last twenty five years of life, Blackshear would make outstanding contributions to his state that would make him one of the county’s most influential and important citizens in the 200-year history of Laurens County.



Known to many as “The Second American Revolution,” the War of 1812 began with a declaration of war by President James Madison on June 18, 1812 following a ten-year series of skirmishes at frontier outposts, impressment of sailors on the seas, and blockades of shipping.  It was on the 4th of July in 1812, some three dozen years after America first declared its independence from the King of England that soldiers of the Georgia militia rendezvoused in Dublin to launch an attack on British fortifications in Florida, which would not become part of the United States until six years later.

During its regular session, the Georgia legislature on December 9, 1812, appointed David Blackshear to command the 2nd Brigade of the 5th Division of the state’s militia.  Dr. William Lee commanded the first division.  

Blackshear’s first known call to duty came in early August 1813, when Georgia governor David Mitchell wrote the general to move his brigade to the frontier and adopt measures to afford some security for the fearing inhabitants.  Gen. Blackshear ordered Lt. Col. Ezekiel Wimberly to immediately man three forts: Twiggs, Telfair, and Jackson along the line of the frontier, then the Ocmulgee River.  Blackshear ordered Col. Allen Tooke of Pulaski County and Major Cawthorn of Telfair to immediately do the same.

The General set out on a patrol to inspect the forts and reported back to the Governor,  “I found the inhabitants in a high state of alarm - an immense number of whom had left and fled to the interior.”  Blackshear immediately began preparations to lay out an additional ten forts along the frontier, each manned by one subaltern, a sergeant, a corporal and fifteen privates and each approximately ten miles equidistant.

My mid-September, Gen. Blackshear reported that all threats of an eminent invasion had subsided, at least for the present.  By mid-November, tensions along the Ocmulgee once again began to rise.  Major General David Adams ordered Blackshear to send some of his best men to join a force of 157 men and  to go out to the frontier to make improvements to existing fortifications and erect new ones and to report his activities to Major James Patton at Fort Hawkins.

On January 4, 1814, the newly elected Georgia governor Peter Early, a former judge of Laurens County Superior Court, replaced the ailing General John Floyd with his old friend, David Blackshear to command the army from Georgia in the lower Flint River region.  Blackshear reported that a great number of his men were sick and that he needed substantial reinforcements to aid his 700-man force in guarding his forts and supplies, not to mention the effort to drive away the hostile Indians, all the Negroes, and the British forces at the mouth of Flint River.

Two years after the war began, Gov. Early reappointed Gen. Blackshear to command a brigade of first class militia along with Gen. Floyd.  Blackshear responded, “Sir, I am at all times ready promptly to accept that or any other appointment you may think proper to confer on me in which it is in my power to serve my country.”  

Just as was the case in previous Septembers, tensions along the Georgia frontier began to explode.  Blackshear ordered several units to move out from Hartford, opposite present day Hawkinsville.   Adjutant General Daniel Newnan informed Blackshear that 2500 men would be needed to support General Andrew Jackson, then in the vicinity of Mobile.  Several units from Blackshear’s command were detached for that purpose. 

Ten days before Christmas, Blackshear and his brigade received orders to move from their encampment at Camp Hope,  two miles  north of Fort Hawkins on the Milledgeville Road  in present day Macon,  to Hartford and then to open a road to the Flint River, where he was ordered to erect fortifications.    No one in Georgia even realized that the war with Great Britain officially ended with the signing of the Treaty of Ghent on Christmas Eve while Blackshear and his men were camping on the banks of the Ocmulgee.

Blackshear’s men spent Christmas at Camp Blakely, two miles from present day Hawkinsville before moving west toward his objective on the Flint River.  Blackshear reported that he arrived on January 6 “without forage and not many rations on hand.” Blackshear continued his march, oblivious to the fact that two days later, General Andrew Jackson’s command defeated the British at the war ending Battle of New Orleans.

With no instant communications informing him that hostilities had officially ended, Blackshear marched his men, many of whom were sick, south and west from their Flint River base.  On January 14, Blackshear received orders to return to Fort Hawkins.  Within a week, Blackshear was back at Fort Hawkins, where he begged Farrish Carter, of Baldwin County, to furnish him with 30,000 badly needed rations. Blackshear implored, “Our country is invaded; and I hope in God you will use every exertion in your power to facilitate the movement of the troops to check the insurrection and depredation that will ensue should we delay for want of provisions.”

Once resupplied, at least in part, Blackshear began cutting a road down the northeastern line of the Ocmulgee and Altamaha.  His destination was Fort Barrington on the Altamaha in McIntosh County.  Along his line of march, Blackshear’s men cut the legendary “Blackshear Road.”  

Reports of British activity around St. Mary’s were coming in from many sources. One of those sources was J. Sawyer, possibly Jonathan Sawyer the founding father of Dublin, who reported that the British were landing on Cumberland Island.  Sawyer wrote Blackshear concerning British atrocities  and their movement toward Darien.  

By February 4, 1815, Blackshear reported that he was some 132 miles from Hartford  or just a few miles from Fort Barrington.  Upon his arrival in Darien, David Blackshear reported, “We have been in a constant state of alarm, and the principal inhabitants, remonstrating against my leaving this station.”
Just as he was making plans to move toward the enemy, General Floyd wrote to Blackshear, “The official accounts of a peace having been concluded between our country and Great Britain appear to have filled the hearts of the populace here (Savannah) with joy.”  And, just like that it was over.  After formally winding up their affairs, Blackshear’s men were discharged and went back their homes in East Central Georgia.

As the military chapter of Blackshear’s life came to a close after the Indian Wars of the early 19th Century, a new chapter, his return to government service, reopened.  Blackshear’s power and influence led directly to dramatic changes in the history of the State during the first third of the 19th Century. 

Blackshear was elected in 1816 to represent Laurens County in the Senate of the State of Georgia.  He would serve ten consecutive one-year terms in the Senate before voluntarily retiring in 1826.  

Among David Blackshear’s closest friends was his neighbor to the south, George M. Troup.  Troup, who had served in the Congress of the United States for nearly a decade, moved to Laurens County at the end of the War of 1812.  Shortly thereafter Troup was appointed to serve the remainder of a vacancy in the Senate of the United States.  

Troup, an ardent supporter of State Rights, lost a narrow election to John Clark, his bitter political enemy, in the election of 1821.  At that time, the office of the Governor was filled by a vote of the members of the Senate.  Blackshear supported his good friend and protege  in all three of his gubernatorial campaigns.  The election of 1823 in the Senate was one of the most interesting and tide-turning elections in the history of the State of Georgia.

The election of 1823 would be the last time the legislature regularly elected the governor. The contest was bitter, divisive and fierce to say the least.  As the Secretary of the Senate called for the vote, each member rose, walked to the speaker’s desk and deposited their ballots in a hat.  The atmosphere inside the chamber was tense.  Passions peaked.  Betters placed their wagers.   Blackshear, the Chairman of the Committee on the State of the Republic who was frequently asked to act as President Pro Tempore, sat silently in his seat, emotionless on the outside, his heart throbbing on the inside. 

A deafening silence came over the clamoring chamber as the 166 paper ballots, one by one, were taken from the one hat and put in another.  To win the election, either Troup or Clark had to be named on 84 ballots.  With two ballots left, the votes were even at 82 for each candidate.

The clerk paused.  Everyone in the chamber rose forward in fervent anticipation of victory for their candidate.  The next ballot was for George Troup.  Only one ballot remained.  It lay face down in the bottom of the hat.  The President of the Senate picked up the hat by its rim, turned it over and exclaimed, “Senator Troup!”  


Historian William H. Sparks wrote, “The scene that followed this announcement in indescribable.  the smothered emotion of the multitude burst forth as the eruption of a volcano.  All order and dignity was lost.  Shrieks, yells, tears, and laughter all mingled in the wild commotion.  Men rushed into each other's arms, desks were kicked over; men rolled upon the carpet, whilst deep and bitter curses came from the opposition.  This turmoil defied the power of the speaker, and continued for twenty minutes.  When excitement had exhausted itself, and silence and order restored General Blackshear, who had remained silent and standing amidst the turmoil lifted his eyes toward heaven, and stretching forth his hands, said in a loud but trembling voice, ‘Now Lord, I am ready to die.’  This was the signal for the renewal of the extravagances of joy in cheers and shouts from all around.   The crowd surrounded the venerable general, blessing and caressing him until, overcome with emotion, with tears streaming down his withered cheeks, he sank into his chair, still saying ‘Yes, I am now ready to die.’"  

Blackshear continued to consult and advise Troup during his four years as Governor, often working with the Governor’s Secretary Mirabeau Lamar.  Lamar, who lived in Troup’s home down river from Blackshear, went on to become the second President of the Republic of Texas. 

  After his retirement from the Senate, the venerable statesman withdrew from the political scene.  He did return briefly to politics during  the presidential elections of 1828 and 1832 when he served as an Elector to the Electoral College committed to Andrew Jackson.  At the turn  of the 19th Century, Blackshear had served as an elector in favor of Thomas Jefferson.   In one of his last political actions, Blackshear was named Chairman of a Committee to fight prospective tariffs in 1832. 

Among the General’s most passionate interests came in the field of agriculture, particularly in the science of viticulture.  Blackshear consulted with his friend, Thomas McCall, in cultivating the finest wines made from a mixture of local wild grapes and traditional European ones.  Known as one who always offered his frequent and numerous guests a hospitable glass of wine, Blackshear planted acres of apple and peach trees to produce cider and brandy.  For those of his friends who did not partake of the alcoholic fruit of the vine, Blackshear developed a sweet tasting, non-alcoholic apple cider.

As one of the state’s most prominent men, Blackshear was often called upon to serve on various committees formed for the betterment of the state.  In 1815, the General was appointed by the governor as a commissioner for The Improvement of the Oconee River.  Blackshear had a personal, pecuniary interest in the project.   Blackshear put a lot of unpaid time and labor into the committee, whose goals were stymied because of the fact that capital of Milledgeville was established too far to the north to allow river boat traffic to the capital city.   River transport was critical to the shipment of the General’s plantation produce.  Blackshear, along with his brother, established several ferries across the Oconee River.  The longest of lasting impact was the  last ferry, which closed in the latter part of the 1940s.  

A friend to all, Blackshear played host to the executive, legislative and judicial officials of the state, entertaining them when there travels brought them to Laurens County.  Days were filled with feasts of wild game, toasts with the finest wines, and afternoon fishing in  the General’s bountiful fish ponds and lakes.








Among his close friends were fellow veterans of the Revolutionary War, John Shine and Peter Calloway, both of whom died while visiting the Blackshear home and whose bodies lie among those interred in the family cemetery.  

In his private life, General Blackshear, who bore an uncanny resemblance to Benjamin Franklin by those who knew him,  married Fanny Hamilton, daughter of John Hamilton of Hancock County, in 1802.  The Blackshears had eleven children, eight sons and three daughters.  Sadly all three of their girls died as infants.  Fanny Blackshear’s brother, Everard Hamilton, served as the Secretary of the State of Georgia under the administrations of Governor George Troup and John Forsythe.  



On July 4, 1837 on the 61st anniversary of the Declaration of Independence, the 73-year-old statesman died at his home , which he named Springfield.  He was laid to rest in the family cemetery near his house next to his Virginia born wife, who died on February 28, 1827. 

In describing Blackshear, his biographer, Stephen F. Miller wrpte. “David Blackshear was a man of quiet chivalry, never compromising with danger when duty called.  

Scott B. Thompson, Sr.
January 2014


PLAT OF DAVID BLACKSHEAR'S ESTATE




Saturday, May 4, 2013

CHIEF WILLIAM MCINTOSH




 Thle-Cath-Cha  - The Broken Arrow

He was a man of two people - one white and one red.  His mother’s people, the Lower Creek Indians, called him “Tustunnugee Hutke,” or “White Warrior.”  His father’s people were Scottish Highlanders, who immigrated  to Georgia during the state’s  infancy.  William McIntosh never abandoned either of his people, all the time struggling to maintain the precarious balance between the two nations during the first quarter of the 19th Century.  It was his desire for peaceful coexistence that led to his death - an untimely and senseless death at the hands of his own bitterly divided people on April 30, 1825.  This occasional  visitor to Laurens County was one of the most important and influential Indian leaders in Georgia history.

William McIntosh, a son of a  British officer during the  American Revolution, was born in Wetumpka, an Indian village in eastern Alabama northwest of Columbus, Georgia.  He was nurtured in the Indian ways of life by his mother, Senoya, and his Coweta Indian uncles.  His father, William McIntosh, Sr., sided with King George during the War for American Independence.  William and his half-brother Roley,  son of their father’s second Indian wife, were put on board a ship bound for Scotland, where they would receive a formal education.  William was interested in learning.  Roley was somewhat less interested.  The boys were spirited away from the ship by their Indian uncles.  Their father, oblivious to their absence until the ship had sailed, continued on the voyage to his ancestral homeland.  Discouraged by the way his sons were being raised, the elder McIntosh left his family and returned to McIntosh County on the southeast Georgia coast. William’s uncles taught him all of the things he needed to know about life.  As he approached manhood, William was given leave to visit his father’s home.  William made one final trip to the coast to attend his father’s funeral.

About two hundred years ago, William was chosen as Chief of the Coweta town, at the age of twenty five.  He married Eliza Grierson, a woman of Scottish and Creek parents.  The couple’s first son, Chilly, was born at their home on the Tallapoosa River.  McIntosh, then Chief of all of the lower Creek towns, encouraged commerce with white merchants and traders.  The Lower Creeks believed that their “mixed-blooded” leaders were best suited to deal with the leaders and the people of the United States.  McIntosh stood more than six feet tall -  a height which made him a near giant during his day.  He was light skinned, but retained his Indian features of dark eyes and hair.  He wore buck skin pants and a calico shirt.  His headdress consisted of a turban with a single feather plume.

As tensions became more strained between Georgians and the Creeks (and even among the Creeks themselves), a war between England and the United States broke out in 1812.  McIntosh was commissioned a major in the U.S. Army.  He led a contingent of Indian warriors under the command of Generals John Floyd and John Coffee.  McIntosh led his warriors in support of Gen. Andrew Jackson’s legendary victory at the Battle of Horseshoe Bend.  In near total disregard of the Indians who remained steadfastly loyal to the U.S. Army, Jackson negotiated a treaty.  McIntosh believed the treaty took too much lands from the tribes who had supported Jackson.

In the years which followed the war, McIntosh and his family moved to a new home on the Chattahoochee River.  It was during this time when McIntosh maintained a home near the springs on the west bank of the Oconee River.  The springs, known later as Well Springs, is located south of Dublin  in the Rock Springs Community.  While he was visiting in Laurens County, he sent his son Chilly to school in Dublin.

Relationships between the Americans and the Seminoles flared up again in 1817.  McIntosh was commissioned a brigadier general and was placed in command of thirteen hundred Creek warriors.  They fought in several engagements with their mortal enemies, known as “The Redsticks.” After six years of fighting, McIntosh left the army, still torn by the strife between his two peoples. His uncle, Chief Howard, the leader of a friendly Cheehaw village, was killed by members of the Laurens County Dragoons under the leadership of Captains Obed Wright and Jacob Robinson.

McIntosh established a ferry across the Chattahoochee at Coweta.  He was assisted by Joe Baillie.  The Chief built a large tavern and inn at the famed mineral water springs in Monroe County, which became appropriately known as Indian Springs.  As more and more of Georgia was being settled by white settlers, McIntosh became involved in negotiations between Creek and Georgia officials.  A meeting was held at the McIntosh Inn at Indian Springs in 1821.  Despite his deep-seated objections to the U.S. government’s treaty proposals, McIntosh reluctantly signed a treaty ceding more lands to Georgia.
In 1823, George M. Troup of Laurens County was elected governor of Georgia.  Troup pushed for the removal of all Indian tribes from Georgia. Relationships with the Creeks became more tenuous.  Various towns of the Creek Nation were at odds with each other.  Troup, in an ironic quirk of fate, had an ally in his efforts to rid Georgia of the Creek and the Cherokee.  Chief McIntosh’s father was a brother of Catherine McIntosh, the mother of Governor Troup, making the two leaders were first cousins.

While some have questioned the closeness of the cousins because of their strong efforts in support of their respective constituents, the two men consulted with each other on the matters of Indian lands.  According to local legend, an accord was reached between the two leaders at McIntosh’s home at Well Springs.  McIntosh stood firm in his belief that interaction with the white people would strengthen his tribes.  Troup took an opposite view.  His determination to remove the Indian tribes led to a war of words with President John Quincy Adams. President Adams eventually backed off of his demands for Troup to desist with his plans for Indian removal.

A second treaty between the United States and a council of  Lower Creeks, led by McIntosh, was signed at Indian Springs in 1825.  The new treaty provided for the ceding of all lands claimed by the Creeks in Georgia in exchange for a comparable amount of land in Arkansas.  A bonus of addition land and cash was awarded to McIntosh for his role in convincing other chiefs to agree to the terms of the agreement.  When the leaders of the Upper Creeks learned of the treaty, the outraged Creeks attacked Chief McIntosh in his home,  setting his elaborate house on fire and stabbing and scalping the martyred leader. 
It is said that his son Chilly, who went on to become the first School Superintendent of the Oklahoma Territory and a Confederate field officer, ran from the scene all the way to the capitol in Milledgeville to inform the state of the massacre. 

Chief William McIntosh has been called a hero by some - a traitor by others.  He was one of the most intriguing characters in our state’s history.  His murder was condemned by both of his two peoples.  Eventually the members of his family were pardoned by the tribal council.  They left Georgia for the Indian territory of Oklahoma, where they followed in the footsteps of this once great Creek leader.

Friday, April 26, 2013

RIVER TRANSPORTATION ON THE OCONEE




LAURENS COUNTY, GEORGIA
1800-1917



At the dawn of the history of Laurens County settlers, sought out the prized lands along the Oconee River.   Small rafts and canoes were the only method of traveling along the river.  Over a half dozen ferries were established during the first decade.  Laurens County lies near the upper end of the navigable portion of the Oconee River.  While Milledgeville is generally regarded as the terminus of the navigable river, actually boatmen found that Rock Landing was as far as they could travel.  At the southern end of the river was Darien, a prime seaport in early Georgia history.

Furs and hides were highly sought and were shipped to markets in New York and Philadelphia.  Many were brought in by Indians to Fort Wilkinson.  Rates were set at 50 cents per hundredweight for down-river trips and 75 cents per hundredweight for up-river trips. By 1803 there were 16 boats engaged in the shipment of corn, tobacco, and cotton. 

In 1805 the Oconee Navigation Company was granted a charter by the legislature.  The Company sought to make navigable that portion of the river north of Milledgeville to Barrett Shoals near Athens.  Despite the best efforts of its incorporators the company failed.  The pole boat remained the only way to travel on the Oconee for over a decade.   The inhabitants of Dublin would flock to the river when a boat pulled up to the banks loaded with supplies and groceries from Darien.

The lack of good roads elevated river transportation as the primary means of hauling large quantities of agricultural products.  In 1815, the Georgia legislature appropriated ten thousand dollars for the improvement of the Oconee. Two years later a statewide system of river improvements was implemented.  Samuel Howard, who organized the Steamboat Company of Georgia, was granted a twenty year monopoly on Georgia Rivers.  The United States Supreme Court outlawed the practice in 1824.

Before Macon became an established port on the Ocmulgee River, Dublin became the most important inland trading center of Central Georgia.  George Gaines and Jonathan Sawyer had recognized the potential in this area a decade before.  Gaines established the first ferry in Dublin about the year 1806.  New York businessman Redolphus Bogart began purchasing some of the lands along the river in 1811.  Two years later he purchased 174 acres for the unheard of sum of seven thousand dollars.   In those days seven thousand dollars would be the cost of ten to fourteen thousand acres of undeveloped land.  Bogart sold the property to Gilbert Aspinwall in 1814 at a profit of three thousand dollars.   

During the 1815 session of the Georgia Legislature, $10,000.00 was appropriated for the clearing of the Oconee below Milledgeville.  Among the five commissioners appointed to oversee the operations was Gen. David Blackshear, who had just completed two years of fighting the British and the Indians during the War of 1812.  Blackshear and his colleagues Zachariah Lamar, James Alston, Richard A. Blount, and Jacob Robinson,  expended much time and labor without any reward except the knowledge that they were working for the public good.   The latter of these gentlemen may have been the same Jacob Robinson, who owned thousands of acres along the Oconee River in southern Laurens County. An additional ten thousand dollars were expended in 1817.

River boats began plying the waters of the Oconee about 1817.  In that same year a wealthy Savannah mercantile firm purchased all of the land surrounding Gaines' Ferry for eight thousand dollars.  The firm established a store in Dublin which it operated until 1835.  The senior partner of firm was Andrew Low.  His nephew, a Savannah merchant of the same name, was a central figure in Eugenia Price's Savannah novels.  The younger Low's daughter-in-law, the former Miss Juliette Gordon, was the founder of the Girl Scouts.  

"The Williamson" or "The Georgia" became the first steamboat to reach Milledgeville from Darien on April 13, 1819.  Gradually Dublin and Milledgeville, the state capital, rose to prominence as river ports.  The trip took 40 days due to troubles with low water and snags.  Two years later Samuel Howard arrived in Milledgeville after a 18 day voyage from Darien.   Milledgeville's importance was short lived as reliable transportation was only had during the late winter and early spring.  Farish Carter and John T. Roland's bold plan to use several boats failed in 1824.  

The government of Georgia realized the importance of river transportation and frequently appropriated large sums of money to clear the river of obstructions.  An act was passed in 1826 to clear the river below Milledgeville.  Among those commissioners appointed to oversee the operation were Farish Carter of Baldwin County and again David Blackshear of Laurens County.  The project was revived in 1836 and again on January 19, 1852, when Hardy Smith of Laurens County was appointed as a commissioner to clear the river below Milledgville. 

Although cotton production went up rapidly, river transportation practically died until 1836 when "The Wave" began running up the Oconee from Darien.  It took 5 to 6 days to make the trip to Dublin from the seaport city.  Two other Baldwin County men, Richard J. Nichols and George L. Denning, evidently never succeeded  with their Oconee and Atlantic Steamboat Company which was incorporated in 1837.

The State of Georgia once again renewed its plans to improve navigation along the  Altamaha, Oconee and Ocmulgee rivers in 1851.  Ten thousand dollars was appropriated under the management of a board of commissioners.  The commissioners in charge of the Oconee River were Hardy Smith of Laurens County along with William Joyce, John McArthur and P.H. Lowd (sic) of Montgomery County.

In the 1840s, shippers turned to the railroads to transport their goods.  The Central of Georgia Railroad bridged the Oconee twenty five miles or so above Dublin at Raoul Station.  The trip covered twenty two miles over sandy hills and bad roads and on average took two and one half days to complete.  An old black man, known as Free Isaac, did most of the hauling with his six mule wagon.   Dublin and Laurens County would remain without a railroad for nearly a half century to come.  In 1859 there was a 12 by 26 foot boat loaded with 500 bales of cotton transporting cotton from Milledgeville to Dublin.  Just before the Civil War the men of Dublin decided to build their own boat for use on the Oconee.  Freeman H. Rowe and David Robinson built "The George M. Troup".  Rowe and Robinson named their boat in honor of Gov. George M. Troup who had recently passed away.  Ironically, it was Gov. Troup who so bitterly fought the route of the Central of Georgia railroad through Laurens County which would have alleviated the need for river transportation.  Bob Roberson was the captain of the boat.  His crew was composed of three slaves.  Shade, the pilot, was hired in Savannah.  Elex, a slave belonging to F.H. Rowe, was the cook.  Moses, the property of Roberson, kept the deck in order.
After the Civil War broke out, the “George M. Troup” was given or sold to the Confederate government for blockade running. One river boat, "The Everglade", a Savannah River steamboat, was sold to the Confederate government in 1861.  The boat was refitted and named "The C.S.S. Savannah", the first Confederate steamer.  In 1863 a new "The C.S.S. Savannah" was built. The old steamer was renamed "The C.S.S. Oconee." "The Oconee" sunk off the coast of St. Catherine's Island in a hurricane.

During the war years and beyond the Reconstruction period, river boats were seldom seen on the Oconee.  Once again, cotton had to be hauled to market.  The Central of Georgia Railroad was eventually rebuilt, but some cotton planters carried their cotton directly to Savannah.  S. Yopp sold his cotton for gold in 1865.  Sam Yopp carried his to Savannah and brought home one hundred and fifty dollars.    "The Charles Hardee", "The Two Boys", "The Clyde", and "The Halcyon" made a few trips up the Altamaha and Oconee to Dublin.  In the summer of 1867, citizens of Savannah and others living along the Altamaha, Oconee, and Ocmulgee Rivers formed the Altamaha, Ocmulgee, and Oconee Steamboat Company.  The stockholders of each county were to appoint there own directors.  Col. Jonathan Rivers, a Dublin lawyer and former Confederate colonel, represented Laurens County.  Other local representatives were W.T. McArthur, Montgomery Co.; M.N. McRae, Telfair Co.; and Norman McDuffie, Pulaski County. Meanwhile, hundreds of miles to the northeast in Wilmington, North Carolina, the most radical change in the county's transportation methods was beginning.  Colville and Company were building a new boat to replace "The Caswell" which was getting too old for service.   The seventy foot stern wheeler, "The Colville", was named in honor of the company's senior owner and was piloted by Capt. Robert C. Henry.  

Capt. Robert C. Henry, a native of North Carolina, became the father of river boating in Laurens County.  Capt. Henry served in Company A of the Third North Carolina Cavalry during the Civil War.  At the age of forty Captain Henry, for some unknown reason, left North Carolina for Dublin in 1878.  He brought "The Colville" and fellow captain, Samuel Skinner, with him.   John Colville, the builder of the boat which bears his name, died in 1902 at the home of his neice in Eastman. Captain Henry would go on to make a fortune in the riverboat business.  He turned his interest to timber and banking in the late 1880s.  In 1892 Captain Henry became the founding president of Dublin's first bank, The Dublin Banking Company.  Five years later he built an elegant two story building at 101 West Jackson Street in Dublin.  The building became the home to the bank, when it received its state charter in 1898.  Captain Henry and his wife, the former Miss Louisa Gibbs, were founding and faithful members of the First Presbyterian Church.  Captain Henry was chosen as a director of the Dublin Cotton Mill in 1897.  Captain Henry died in 1900 and was buried in the old City Cemetery.  Years after his death his body was re- interred in the Burgaw Cemetery in North Carolina near his home.  

River transportation lived and died with the rain. The wet season usually ran from mid-fall to mid-spring.  "The Colville" set out for Raoul Station in June of 1878.  Its return depended on the amount of rainfall in the Oconee Basin.  The owners of "The Colville" went to great expense in clearing the river upstream.  The dangers of the river were never more apparent on November 20, 1878. "The Colville" set out for Raoul Station on the Central of Georgia Railroad with a load of cotton.  Three miles above Dublin the boat struck rocks which cut seven holes in the hull causing it to sink in five feet of water.  The boat hands set the cotton off on the banks and worked three days to set the damaged boat afloat.  Capt. Henry brought his boat back to Dublin to repair the damage. 

Captain Henry joined forces with Dublin lawyer and newspaper owner, Col. John M. Stubbs to form the Oconee River Steamboat Company.  The Company purchased a site for their wharf from Hayden Hughes for $35.00 on February 5, 1879.  The one acre tract was located along the northern margin of Town Branch where it empties into the Oconee River.  The company secured an ideal site within a few feet of the Dublin Ferry. Today the site is just a few hundred feet north of Riverwalk Park in Dublin.  "The Colville" once again was grounded in the water with a cargo of 200 barrels of rosin in July of 1879. Captain Henry secured a flat boat, "The Cyclone", to accompany his boat and to carry heavy loads of guano fertilizer.  Unfortunately the flat boat sunk on February 20, 1880 with twenty tons of T.H. Rowe's guano on board.   Captain Henry took advantage of the situation, going back home to marry Louisa.  

The company was granted a charter by the Georgia legislature on September 17, 1879.  Other founders of the company were local merchants, William H. Tillery and William Burch.  The company was granted the power to navigate along the Oconee River with boats and barges to own, build, buy or charter vessels propelled by steam, or other power.  Captain Skinner remained with the company only a few years before returning to Wilmington.  

When the water was low, boats couldn't move.  Merchants complained.  Farmers complained.  Everyone complained.  One hungry customer set out his frustrations in a poem.


 "The Colville" is coming! Awaken,
  Ye draymen of Dublin and start,
 To bring up the longed for bacon,
     In haste on your wagons and cart.

 For weeks we have fasted in sorrow,
     No bacon or lard was the cry.
 We ate all the meat we could borrow
and promised to pay bye and bye.

 But the hungry farmers are starving
For western grown shoulders and sides.        
 And the Joneses while smiling and carving
Take greenbacks and cotton and hides.

 Thus Dublin is left without bacon,
While farmers are fed from the store.
 Nothing short than a railroad to Macon,
Will keep us from being ashore.

 Ate bullbats, catfish, and suckers
And eels from a foot to a yard.
 While the "Wool Hats" with Dan, Mose and Tuckers
Were feasting on bacon and lard.

 I've talked to the meat hungry planter
Adjured him with tears in my eyes.
 He raised the jug and decanter
An his lard and bacon he buys.

 Let's haste then thro' hogweed and thistle
To the steamer for a ration of meat.
 Ere the farmers hear "The Colville's" old whistle
And take off the good things to eat.

A Hungry Customer
    Dublin, Georgia
September 9, 1882.

                            

With no railroad within 25 miles, river traffic was flourishing.  Henry, much to the dismay of Dubliners, was banned by federal regulations  from carrying kerosene on "The Colville" in 1882.   With Dock Anderson at the wheel a round trip to Raoul Station still took the better part of a day.  Captain Henry began work on a new steamer in April of 1883.  The 100 foot gunnel boat was powered by two Crockett engines built in Macon.  A new flat was constructed to hold the bulk of the freight.   Henry's company put the second boat, "The Laurens" on the river in August of 1883., 

R.L. Hicks, a Dublin school teacher, a partner in the firm fo Hicks, Peacock, and Hicks, and rival newspaper editor, launched the "William M. Wadley" in August of 1883.  The boat was named for the president of the Central of Georgia railroad.  The boat made only a few trips during its first six months of operation.  The "Wadley" soon became the fastest boat on the river, easily beating the fast "Cumberland" in a 111 mile race from Gray's Landing to Doctortown. In  March of 1884  "The Wadley" brought a 150 ton load of groceries, hardware, cloth, and supplies into Dublin.  It was the largest load ever brought here.   In one year of service "The Wadley", after lying idle for three months, made 62 round trips covering twenty thousand miles.  It carried twelve million pounds of freight without a single accident.  Unlike many other boats, only five dollars in repairs were made that first year.  "The Dublin Times", edited by Mr. Hicks often made snide remarks about "The Colville", calling her "that North Carolina Tub".  Hicks cried foul about the Oconee River Steamboat Company's exclusive contract to haul freight to and from the Central Georgia Railroad.  When "The Colville" sunk in shallow water on September 19, 1883, Hicks lamented her return and regretted that she failed to commit suicide. The sinking was a mystery which resulted in the loss of three to four hundred dollars to the freight and furniture on the boat.  The "Cyclone" was tied to the "Colville" and met a similar fate.

Competition for the hauling of freight heated up.  The Dublin and Wrightsville Railroad was being built from Wrightsville to Dublin. Capt. Henry built a 16 by 80 foot barge to haul 100 bales of cotton during low water.  The railroad reached Dublin in September of 1886.  The Dublin and Wrightsville Railroad, which later merged with the Wrightsville and Tennille Railroad, was owned by the Central of Georgia.  Raoul Station on the Central was abolished.  The railroad entered into an agreement with the Oconee River Steamboat Company that allowed the riverboats to use the rail facilities in Dublin in exchange for agreeing to haul goods between Dublin and Mt. Vernon only.   When the W&T built its railroad bridge and the county its passenger bridge, the bridges were built to turn their center spans to allow the steamers to pass through. Boat landings were established at the present site of Riverwalk Park, the railroad bridge, and a block below the railroad bridge.

Changes were being made in the Oconee River Steamboat Company.  Captain Henry was succeeded by Jeff D. Roberson, followed by T.B. Hicks, George B. Pope and A.B. Jones. "The Laurens" sunk after a collision with a log raft  at a double bend in the river on June 9, 1887.  The company suffered a complete loss of $10,000.  Engineer John Graham and pilot Norman McCall were carrying 185 barrels of rosin.  Norman McCall, minister of the First African Baptist Church, was known to be a giant of a man.  McCall anchored a pole in the river and managed to save 150 barrels by retrieving the barrels and swimming to the surface while holding on to the pole.  The company temporarily secured a new boat. With "The Colville" being sold and put on the Ocmulgee River, The Oconee River Steamboat Company went out of business, selling its wharf to Foster and McMillan, brick manufacturers, on July 15, 1887. 

J.C. Blaine, master boat builder of Columbus, Georgia, was hired to construct a new boat for Dublin in the late winter of 1887.  The new boat was designed to hold 60 bales of cotton in 15 inches of water.  It was a sternwheeler with two engines, a boiler, and two smoke stacks.  The 115 foot long boat was constructed from Laurens County timbers at the Dublin Ferry with its engines being built at the Columbus Iron Works.  Unfortunately the name of the boat is not known.

A new company, The Louisa Steamboat Company, was incorporated on September 21, 1891.  The organizers included J.D. and M.E. Robeson of Laurens County.  The bulk of the $10,000.00 in capital stock was provided by H.W. Howard of New Hanover County, W.S. Cook, W.A. Robeson, R.M. Nimocks and R.H. Tomlinson of Cumberland County, North Carolina.  The Louisa Company was authorized to ply the waters between Dublin and Red Bluff, Montgomery County.  Other routes, if expedient and profitable, were authorized by the Georgia Legislature.  H.W. Howard was the original president of the company with J.D. Robeson and M.E. Robeson serving on the board of directors.  (Louisa left)

"The Gypsy" and "The Rover" were built by the Forest and Stream Club, but were used by Col. Stubbs for hauling freight.  Captain William Willard Ward was in command.  Capt. Ward, a native of Florida, was one of the few men of Laurens County to enlist in the army during  the Spanish American War.  In 1901, Capt. Ward went in to the business under the name of the Gem City Steamboat Company.    "The Gypsy", the main boat of the Gem City Company was launched in late July of 1901.  Capt. Ward went into business with John Miller Graham. Graham, a native of Laurens,  was unequalled in Georgia for his skill in building light draught boats used on the upper portions of southeastern rivers.  Graham built or supervised the building of most of the light draught steamers used in Georgia, Florida, and South Carolina during this period.  


The Rover

The railroads were now too strong with three railroads coming into Dublin and two more on the way.  Competition  between the steamboats and the railroads was never more heated than during the summer of 1902.  The Macon, Dublin, and Savannah Railroad decided to stop accepting shipments of freight at their dock on the river just below the railroad bridge.  Captains Ward and Graham sought and were granted an injunction which required the railroad to repair the hoist and begin accepting deliveries from the steamboats.  While five railroads were bringing in freight into Dublin, "The Rover" of the Louisa Steamboat Company,  remained tied up at Blackshear's Ferry.  The water level at Dublin was 14 inches below zero.  No boats could move.  

When they boats were moving there were often tragic and severe consequences.  Wash Jenkins, an employee of the Louisa Steamboat Company drowned while attempting to carry a barrell of water from the shore to "The City of Dublin."  Two months later the boat sunk after striking a rock at the mouth of Deep Creek opposite Cow Hell Swamp.  The boat was refloated only to sink two weeks later.  Once again the boat was refloated by plugging the hole with a mattress and pumping the water out.


The Rover

It was 1906.  There were good times and bad times.  "The Rover" sunk in the spring and was a total loss.  In Mid October, "The R.C. Henry" sunk at Bonnie Clabber.  The owners enlisted to the aid of "The Southland", the boat of the Simmons Lumber Company - later the Southland Lumber Company. "The Southland" was put into freight service until a new boat could be secured. The Louisa Steamboat Company with no boats followed the course of the Gem City Steamboat Company and went out of business.  Dublin was without a boat.  The good news was the renewed interest by Congressmen W.W. Brantley and Thomas Hardwick along with Senator A.S. Clay in securing funds for improvement of river navigation.

The Oconee River Association was formed in a meeting at Dublin in November, 1906.  The group requested $110,000.00 to improve the river, citing the loss of two boats during the previous six months. While the meeting was going on, Capt. P. J. Keating continued to dynamite snags along the river.   It had been nearly two decades since local congressmen James H. Blount and Charles F. Crisp secured federal money to help in clearing the river. 

Dublin's businessmen got busy and formed a new boat company.  J.E. Smith, Jr., William Bales, O.G. Sparks, J.R. Broadhurst, D.S. Brandon, E.R. Orr, D.L. Emerson, and Izzie Bashinski formed the Dublin Navigation Company.  They hired Capt. Ward to pilot their new boat.  The organizers entered into an agreement with the Altamaha Navigation Company to keep freight moving to and from the Altamaha along the Oconee River.  Before a new boat could be constructed the Altamaha Company sent "The Nan Elizabeth" on a temporary basis.  The Dublin Navigation Company in short order completed "The New Dublin" once again giving Dublin its own boat.  The boat was pronounced the best boat ever built on the river.  "The New Dublin" was sold in 1909 and was put into service on the Savannah River. "The Nan Elizabeth" returned to Dublin.  The legendary boat builder, John M. Graham,  died just before Christmas.  


John M. Graham


As Dublin and Laurens County prospered, pleasure trips along the Oconee were common.   Many of the freighters were quickly converted into passenger boats.   J.A. Jackson, owner of "The Nina" gave trips up the Oconee to the mouth of Big Creek, a favorite swimming hole. Champagne, claret, and other liquids were served.   When a large group of visitors came to town they were often treated to boat rides down the river to the mouth of Turkey Creek, Well Springs, or Bonnie Clabber.  The ladies of the Episcopal Church sponsored a moonlight boat ride on the Oconee.  The price of a ticket was 50 cents. With the sinking of the unsinkable "Titanic" in 1912, river steamboats were no longer allowed to carry passengers on excursions.


The Katie 


Mrs. Harry Hill had fond memories of her trip up the Oconee River from Lothair to Dublin.  In a November 21, 1963 article, Mrs. Hill remembered riding on “The City of Dublin” from Poor Robin Landing.  “Captain Fitchett was the master of the vessel and stopped every few miles to take on cords of wood for his wood burner and freight to transport to Dublin.  She fondly recalled the delicious meals cooked by Uncle Joe Hudson, who later owned a popular restaurant on North Jefferson Street.  “Uncle Joe and Captain Fitchett kept a flock on hens on board for eggs to serve the passengers and crew, and every time the boat docked they would let the chickens off.  When it came time to pull anchor the whistle would blow and the hens would obediently run scramblingly and squawkingly back to the boat and into the pen provided for them,” Mrs. Hill said.

Dublin experienced a tremendous industrial growth during the first decade of the 20th century.  Many of the companies involved in wood and wood products used their own boats. "The Nan Chappell" was put into service by the Georgia Cooperate Company in January of 1910.  The Simmons Lumber Company and its successor, The Southland Lumber Company used their own boat, "The Southland" to bring in hardwoods cut from the banks of the Oconee.  J.A. Kelley, Dublin's premier builder, built "The Nan Allen" for the stave plant to ship its hardwood timbers in and the barrel staves out to market. Kelley also built the last boat, "The Katherine S." which made its maiden voyage in 1917.  "The Dorothy T", the new steamer of the Southern Cotton Oil Company, was commissioned here in 1923.  Emily Rentz, daughter of Dr. and Mrs. A.T. Coleman, christened the boat which was named for Dorothy Tennille, daughter of the Vice President of the Southern Cotton Oil Company.  It was used for hauling timber to the stave mill of the  cooperage department of the company. Capt. Woolvin was in charge of the construction with help from Capt. W.W. Ward.  

J.E. Smith, Jr., Dublin's premier businessman, formed his own company, The Oconee Navigation Company in 1911.  A new steamer was built and named in honor of Smith's daughter, Clyde.  "The Clyde S" was captained by J.F. Pritchett and W.W. Mobley.  The 96 feet by 24 feet boat with a tonnage capacity of 124 tons was built by W.W. Ward.  Clyde Smith, daughter of the company president, christened the new boat with a bottle of grape juice, since she was a member of the temperance movement. It worked in connection with "The Katie C.".  Within two months the boat nearly sank when it struck a snag in the river.  A hole in the boat was plugged with a mattress but nearly 200 sacks of guano were lost.  "The Clyde S." was rebuilt in 1915, making it the first boat designed especially to carry passengers.  Before long "The Clyde S." met her inevitable fate.  She was beached on the east bank of the Oconee just below the ferry.  Today you catch a glimpse of her remains opposite the  River Walk.

The river men made one last attempt to improve river navigation with the organization of the Oconee River Improvement Association in the winter of 1911.  During World War I and the severe economic depression which followed the old river boats died away.  During the next two decades one might see a pleasure boat or a boat loaded with plywood plying its way along the waters of the Oconee.  The sound of the whistles were gone forever.  

                 ALONG THE OCONEE
Ernest Camp


On down the noble Oconee they sped,
  The boats well rationed and freighted,
Under skies wondrous fair and serene overhead,
  Through winds with fragrance well weighted -
    Two human cargoes,
    From whose hearts then arose
  A greeting to friends and forgiveness for foes!

On past the white cypress, the willow and gum,
  On past the grand poplar supernal,
On, on with a song and a shout and a hum,
  With the shriek of a whistle infernal -
    On, on did they speed,
    Past the brush and the reed,
  To explore and behold scenic beauty indeed!

On past the broad acres, both fertile and grand,
  On past the by-brooks and the streams,
On past the broad bars of spotless white sand,
  On, on, on their journey of dreams -
    Of sin there was dearth,
    But the gladness and mirth
  Encircled the waters and painted the earth!

When the landing was reached and they rambled away,
  'Mongst the scenes of wild beauty around,
They thanked the great God for the birth of that day -
  For His works of nature profound;
    Then the birds up above -
    Both the mocking and dove,
  Burst out in a greeting of joy and of love!

Then the aged, bent cypress - historic sublime,
  Tall, towered above the old gum,
and majestic like poplars, the markers of time,
  Now swayed in an effort to hum;
    And the twisted bamboo,
    Prone to rock and to woo,
  But muttered in unison, "Remember me too!"

When at last, at a signal, they boarded the boats,
  To return on their trip of delight,
With uncovered heads and moss-entwined coats,
  They looked on the fair and the bright,
    And the zephyrs that strayed,
    Through the locks of the maid,
  Soon had on her cheeks rarest roses arrayed.

On, on, past the willow, now weeping with joy,
  On past the white cypress they sped,
On, on, with the hopes of the man and the boy,
  As the green leaves sighed for the dead -
    on, onward they pressed,
    With the sun to the west,
  As it gave benediction to the day it had blessed!

But the journey is over!  The whistles are blown;
  A loud, ringing cheer is now heard;
The passengers land, and the song of the bird,
  Now stilled, is rembered , I own,
    And the joy of that ride,
    In our hears will abide,
  For 'twas grand and inspiring, and noble, beside!

(Boat ride given the County School Commissioners of Georgia, upon the Oconee River, Wednesday afternoon,
May 4, 1904, by the people of Dublin.)  





The Louisa





-----------------------------
END NOTES


Bonner, James C., Milledgeville, Georgia's Antebellum Capital,
Mercer University Press, Macon, GA 1985 Reprint Edition.

Coleman, Kenneth, A History of Georgia,  University of Georgia
Press, Athens, GA, 1977.

Cowart, D.T., Thought You Might Be Interested in Knowing, 
Laurens County Historical Society Collections.

Goff, John H. "The Steamboat Period in Georgia", "Georgia
Historical Quarterly, Vol. 12, 1928.

Hart, Bertha Sheppard, The Official History of Laurens County
Georgia, 1807-1941, Agee Publishers, 1987 Reprint
Edition.

Miller, Stephen, Memoir of General David Blackshear,  J.B. 
Lipincott & Co., Philadelphia, 1858.

Georgia Historical Quarterly, Georgia Historical Society, 
Vols. 12, 18.

The Southern Recorder, Milledgeville Newspaper.

The Dublin Post, The Dublin Courier Dispatch,  Dublin
Newspapers.
Georgia Laws, 1812, 1836, 1837, 1851, 1879, 1891.